The murder acquittal of Caylee Anthony’s mom Casey has led to not just one new bill in the California legislature – but two. They share the same basic goal: to get parents to report missing or dead children immediately. Two Assembly members are touting bills called “Caylee’s Law” after the two-year-old Florida girl whose disappearance wasn’t reported for a month.
One measure comes from Republican Paul Cook. “Purpose of the bill is–at least as a father and a grandfather–is to correct what I consider a glaring error in the law,” said Cook.
Cook’s measure would require parents or guardians to report a missing child under 12 years old within 48 hours–and a death within two hours – and make any violation a felony. Democrat Holly Mitchell’s bill makes the age limit 14 and the time limit 24 hours. Not reporting a death would be a felony. Not reporting a missing child would be a misdemeanor.
Lawmakers have just started their summer recess – so neither can move forward until the legislature reconvenes next month.